Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
Hardcover
Aug 14, 2018 | 384 Pages
See All Formats (3) +
  • Paperback $28.00

    Aug 14, 2018 | 496 Pages

  • Hardcover $26.00

    Aug 14, 2018 | 384 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    Aug 14, 2018 | 384 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature….Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders – and dangers – of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.” —Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.” —Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Reminiscent of Barbara Kingsolver, this Southern-set period novel unfurls a whodunit against a typical coming-of-age tale, when a mysterious “Marsh Girl” becomes the primary suspect of a grisly crime.” —Entertainment Weekly

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative . . . Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“Slow down and let this lush nature-focused story unspool….A mystery will pull you along, but stay awhile in the descriptions of shifting tides, shell collections, and the mottled light of coastal Carolina.” —Garden & Gun

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Lyrical . . . Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.” —Booklist

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

Where The Crawdads Sing carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.” David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top