Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

All the Way to the Tigers

Best Seller
All the Way to the Tigers by Mary Morris
Paperback $17.00
May 11, 2021 | ISBN 9780593081020

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • May 11, 2021 | ISBN 9780593081020

    Also available from:

  • Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9780385546096

    Also available from:

  • Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9780385546102

    Available from:

Product Details

Praise

“Mary Morris’s All the Way to the Tigers is a travel memoir and quest. Alluringly written in short, meditative chapters, it whizzes back and forth between America and India. . . . Fascinating.”
The New York Times Book Review
 
“The best travel memoirs offer readers three pleasures woven together: accounts of ‘what I saw,’ ‘how I came to understand myself better’ and ‘what I learned about the world’—and Morris’ memoir doesn’t skimp on any of them.”
—Nancy Pearl, NPR
 
“The author of the classic travelogue Nothing to Declare this time ventures to Pench, India, in part to glimpse the apex predator she’s long dreamed of, in part to prove that a recent injury won’t end the habit of far-flung travel that has nourished her for six decades. The resulting memoir—wry and wistful—reveals a woman finally comfortable with her own imperfections and, when she gets the chance, unafraid to look a tiger in the eye.”
O, The Oprah Magazine
 
“The compelling why and how of jumpstarting her epic adventure launches a multilayered story unfurled in 100 brief chapters—like little pearls expertly strung on an intricate necklace . . . Morris delivers with grace and grit.”
Forbes

“Fact: Mary Morris is the best travel writer alive. I am humbled by her skill at using the bones of a journey to get to the heart of herself. She’s a master of the craft.”
—Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things
 
“A travel narrative in the tradition of Cheryl Strayed and Elizabeth Gilbert.”
Read It Forward
 
“Morris is frank, funny, and incisive as she revisits her ‘free ranging’ Chicago childhood, single motherhood, and her start as writer, and expounds on tigers in the world and in the imagination . . . Morris’ epigrammatic memoir is a finely wrought mosaic of unexpected and provocative pieces cunningly fit together.’
Booklist
 
“Engrossing . . . Morris’s descriptions of remote beauty, grinding urban poverty, and exotic adventures will captivate armchair tourists and travel memoir fans.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“Honest, observant, and striking.”
Kirkus Reviews

Be the first to know!
More from Mary Morris and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Mary Morris and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top