Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

All Our Hidden Gifts

Best Seller
All Our Hidden Gifts by Caroline O'Donoghue
Hardcover $19.99
Jun 08, 2021 | ISBN 9781536213942

Also available from:

  • Jun 08, 2021 | ISBN 9781536213942 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

An immersive tale of brave, vulnerable teens facing threats both real and fantastic.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Ghostly menace, queer liberation, and sweet nonbinary romance all find room in this modern Irish contemporary. . . O’Donoghue (Scenes of a Graphic Nature) infuses fierce integrity and an understanding of self-worth into a hilarious voice. . .the novel’s brilliant connections between friendship, boundaries, and the vulnerability of loneliness provide a vibrant compass for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan or Derry Girls.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

There’s an air of creepy mysticism to this uncommonly well-crafted urban fantasy, and O’Donoghue deftly weaves real-world and paranormal story aspects together.
—Booklist (starred review)

The book’s ending leaves the door open for a sequel, and readers are sure to clamor for one. . . . All Our Hidden Gifts is grounded and realistic, even when it’s got a foot in the supernatural, and it captures the complex, emotional nature of teen relationships with ease.
—BookPage (starred review)

With a deft hand, O’Donoghue crafts a narrative that is steeped in both classic gothic atmosphere and contemporary representation. . . . Stefanie Caponi’s tarot card illustrations are hauntingly perfect companions to the text. Much like the novel, the cards appear deceptively familiar at first glance. The stakes are high, the narrative is nuanced, and the climax and resolution are refreshingly unexpected. Expect readers to fall into this blurred tale of the normal and the paranormal.
—School Library Journal

Maeve, the main character of this story, is conflicted. She is conflicted about the decisions she has made surrounding her friendships and conflicted about her place in society in general. . . .The story is well written and engaging. It also provides a perspective on how religious individuals, and the Irish community specifically, are working through the changing global perspectives of gender and gender fluidity. . . . This book is a recommended addition for high school readers interested in tarot, mysticism, and gender roles
—School Library Connection

Fans of Derry Girls will immediately feel at home with these Irish Catholic schoolgirls who balance politics, religion, and adolescence with wry humor and sharp wit. While folkloric magic (it turns out, Maeve has more powers than just the ability to read tarot cards) is the central theme, O’Donoghue also weaves in elements of gender exploration, queer culture, and a nod to the evolving social climate in Ireland.
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“All Our Hidden Gifts is a magical surprise of a book, the perfect combination of heartfelt and thrilling, unpredictable and familiar. The startling and unique story lets us imagine and worry and love and reach for the truth right alongside Maeve. It is easy and exciting to get lost in this witchy, mysterious, and deeply layered story.”
—Corey Ann Haydu, author of OCD Love Story and Ever Cursed

“An utterly seductive read, where the magical bleeds into the familiar.”
—Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter

Whether you come for the mystery, the magical hijinks, or the intense teenage feelings, All Our Hidden Gifts has a lot to offer. It takes friendship seriously and treats its queer and diverse characters with empathy and respect, all while frolicking off on a somewhat batty supernatural adventure.
—NPR

Get the latest updates from Caroline O’Donoghue
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top