Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

A Cash Blackbear Mystery Series

Marcie R. Rendon
Cash Blackbear is a young Ojibwe woman whose visions and grit help her solve brutal crimes in the 1970s in the Red River Valley.
Girl Gone Missing (MN Edition) by Marcie R. Rendon
Latest in the Series

Girl Gone Missing (MN Edition)

Book 2
Paperback $16.95

A Cash Blackbear Mystery Series : Titles in Order

Book 2
Marcie R. Rendon’s follow-up to Murder on the Red River finds Cash helping Sheriff Wheaton solve a murder that has likeness to the cases of missing and murdered Native women.

Cash is off to a local college with the help of Wheaton, who wants her to take hold of her life and aspire to better things. At Moorhead State she sees that people talk a lot but mostly about nothing, not like the men in the fields she’s known all her life, who hold the rich topsoil in their hands, talk fertilizer and weather and prices on the Grain Exchange.
In between classes and hauling beets, drinking beer and shooting pool, she begins to dream of the Cities and blonde Scandinavian girls calling for help.
Book 1
One Book, One Minnesota Selection for Summer 2021
Set in 1970s along Red River Valley, Marcie R. Rendon’s gripping new mystery follows the life of a young Ojibwe woman as she struggles to come to terms with the callous murder of a Native American stranger, bringing to life the gritty, dark reality of a flawed foster care system and the oppression of indigenous people.

Renee “Cash” Blackbear, a 19-year-old, tough-as-nails, resilient Ojibwe woman, has lived all her life in Fargo, sister city to Minnesota’s Moorhead, just downriver from the Cities. Her life revolves around driving truck for local farmers, drinking beer, playing pool, smoking cigarettes, and solving criminal investigations through the power of her visions. She has one friend, Sheriff Wheaton, who’s also her guardian and helped her out of the broken foster care system. Together they must work to solve a murder across cultures in a rural Midwest community layered in racism, genocide, and oppression. 

This critically acclaimed series debut, winner of the Pinckley Prize and nominated for the Sue Grafton Memorial Award, brings Cash Blackbear to Soho Crime along with Marcie R. Rendon’s full crime backlist and future publications of new books in the Cash Blackbear Mystery series. 
Back to Top