Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Fatal Folklore Trilogy Series

Bill Schweigart
The Beast of Barcroft by Bill Schweigart
Northwoods by Bill Schweigart
The Devil's Colony by Bill Schweigart

The Fatal Folklore Trilogy Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
The greatest monster is man. From the author of The Beast of Barcroft and Northwoods comes a chilling descent into the depths of horror and human depravity.
 
Ben McKelvie had a good job, a nice house, a beautiful fiancée . . . until a bloodthirsty shapeshifter took everything away. Ever since, he’s been chasing supernatural phenomena all across the country, aided by dedicated zoologist Lindsay Clark and wealthy cryptozoologist Richard Severance.
 
Now they face their deadliest challenge yet. In the New Jersey Pine Barrens, a man named Henry Drexler operates a private compound called Välkommen, which is Swedish for “welcome.” Indeed, Drexler welcomes all visitors—so long as they’re racists, neo-Nazis, or otherwise in cahoots with the alt-right. But Drexler is no mere Hitler wannabe. Once he was Severance’s mentor, and his research may well have summoned a monster to the Pine Barrens.
 
To find out the truth, Ben and Lindsay must enter the camp incognito. There, under the watchful eyes of Drexler’s bodyguards and sociopathic son, they will learn that the most dangerous beasts lurk in the human heart.

Don’t miss any of Bill Schweigart’s gripping supernatural thrillers:
THE BEAST OF BARCROFT | NORTHWOODS | THE DEVIL’S COLONY

Praise for The Devil’s Colony

“Stunning . . . satisfying to thriller fans as well as horror aficionados.”—Into the Abyss

“[Bill] Schweigart did a fantastic job on The Devil’s Colony. . . . Well done, sir. Well done.”—Sci-Fi & Scary
Book 2
Some borders should never be crossed. From the author of The Beast of Barcroft comes a waking nightmare of a horror novel that’s sure to thrill readers of Stephen King and Bentley Little.
 
Ex–Delta Force Davis Holland, now an agent for the Customs and Border Protection, has seen it all. But nothing in his experience has prepared him for what he and the local sheriff find one freezing night in the Minnesota woods.
 
Investigating reports of an illegal border crossing, the two men stumble across a blood-drenched scene of mass murder, barely escaping with their lives . . . and a single clue to the mayhem: a small wooden chest placed at the heart of the massacre. Something deadly has entered Holland’s territory, crossing the border from nightmare into reality.
 
When news of the atrocity reaches wealthy cryptozoologist Richard Severance, he sends a three-person team north to investigate. Not long ago, the members of that team—Ben McKelvie, Lindsay Clark, and Alex Standingcloud—were nearly killed by a vengeful shapeshifter. Now they are walking wounded, haunted by gruesome memories that make normal life impossible. But there is nothing normal about the horror that awaits in the Northwoods.

Praise for Northwoods
 
“[Bill] Schweigart has again penned an entertaining entry in what is a very appealing and original series. With its vivid descriptions and realistic but sympathetic characterizations, Northwoods will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned.”—New York Journal of Books
 
“Hell-Yeah-Here-It-Comes, no-holds-barred, epic action . . . another solid story from a writer whom fans of King and Koontz are sure to enjoy.”—Scifi and Scary Book Reviews
 
“Schweigart really knows how to write an exciting and surprising narrative and this book takes horror to a whole new level.”—I Wuv Books
 
“A fast-paced, chilling read.”—Books & Such
 
“One of the best monster books I have ever read.”—It’s a Mad Mad World
Book 1
Fans of Stephen King and Bentley Little will devour The Beast of Barcroft, Bill Schweigart’s brilliant new vision of dark suburban horror. Ben thought he had the neighbor from hell. He didn’t know how right he was. . . .
 
Ben McKelvie believes he’s moving up in the world when he and his fiancée buy a house in the cushy Washington, D.C., suburb of Barcroft. Instead, he’s moving down—way down—thanks to Madeleine Roux, the crazy neighbor whose vermin-infested property is a permanent eyesore and looming hazard to public health.
 
First, Ben’s fiancée leaves him; then, his dog dies, apparently killed by a predator drawn into Barcroft by Madeleine’s noxious menagerie. But the worst is yet to come for Ben, for he’s not dealing with any ordinary wild animal. This killer is something much, much worse. Something that couldn’t possibly exist—in this world.
 
Now, as a devilish creature stalks the locals, Ben resolves to take action. With some grudging assistance from a curator at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo and the crackpot theories of a self-styled cryptozoologist, he discovers the sinister truth behind the attacks, but knowing the Beast of Barcroft and stopping it are two different animals.

Praise for The Beast of Barcroft
 
“A vicious otherworldly creature terrorizes a neighborhood in Schweigart’s swift and breezy suburban creature feature. . . . Readers who appreciate a B-movie sensibility, affable characters, and a sense of fun along with their scares will find much to enjoy.”—Publishers Weekly

“The Beast of Barcroft is a page-turner, seizing the reader and demanding he keep his nose buried in the book until that last page is reached.”—New York Journal of Books
 
“The Beast of Barcroft is quite chilling at times, but oh what great entertainment it provides. . . . If you like horror novels, don’t hesitate to give [it] a try as it’s a terrifyingly good story.”—Fresh Fiction
 
“A hybrid of The X Files, Silver Bullet and Supernatural. If you enjoy your horror with a distinctly animalistic edge then I would recommend that you give The Beast of Barcroft a go.”—The Eloquent Page
 
“The action is fun, the pace is quick, and the imagery is great. I’d highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good afternoon horror story.”—Scifi and Scary Book Reviews

Find other titles in

Back to Top