Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Series

Kelly Murphy and Jordan Stratford
The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1) by Jordan Stratford; illustrated by Kelly Murphy
The Case of the Counterfeit Criminals (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 3) by Jordan Stratford; illustrated by Kelly Murphy
The Case of the Perilous Palace (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 4) by Jordan Stratford; Illustrated by Kelly Murphy

The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency Series : Titles in Order

Book 4
The history-mystery-science series continues as the Wollstonecraft Detectives–Ada Byron Lovelace and Mary Shelley–take on a case by royal request.

Ada’s imperious grandmother has absolutely shut the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency down–until they get a case from a princess, that is.

The princess Alexandrina Victoria, age 9 (who will grow up to be Queeen Victoria), is the most closely watched girl in England. She is never alone. Every morsel she eats is catalogued. Every visitor overseen. Every move noted down. She has but one thing of her own–a sketchbook she uses as a secret diary, where she records her private thoughts in code. But now, somehow, that sketchbook has disappeared.

And so the princess enlists Ada and Mary to figure out what has happened to the sketchbook without arousing the suspicions of her minders. A most clandestine case indeed! One that will involve breaking into Kensington Palace and uncovering a host of surprising royal secrets…

This funny, Christmas-time romp of a caper will delight history and mystery fans alike.
Book 3
This “winner” (School Library Journal) of a history-mystery-science series continues as the Wollstonecraft Detectives–Ada Byron Lovelace and Mary Shelley–take on a case from the celebrated dinosaur bone hunter, Mary Anning.
 
The Wollstonecraft Girls embark on their most important case yet–the famed dinosaur fossil hunter Mary Anning is being blackmailed. Her precious dog has been snatched and the kidnappers are demanding that Miss Anning authenticate some fake dinosaur bones up for auction at the British Museum in order to get him back. Ada and Mary have just three days to track down the fossil fakers, find the dog, and save the integrity of science!
 
The game is truly afoot in this quirky caper involving blood-sucking leeches, an asthmatic pug, smoke bombs, secret elevators, diabolical disguises, and wicked word-play.
 
Praise for The Case of the Missing Moonstone:

“An enjoyable plot, resourceful heroines and fun writing.” –Wall Street Journal
 
“Smart and witty. . . . The detectives in training use quick thinking, book smarts, and social know-how to find a stolen gemstone. Comical narration and dialogue will charm readers thoroughly.” –Publishers Weekly
 
Praise for The Case of the Girl in Grey:

“Mystery fans … will relish the girls’ romp around the stately home; discovery of an encrypted clue (in the crypt, of course); and unraveling of the mystery.”–Booklist
 
“Equal parts laughs and adventure, this lively mystery will keep you guessing till the end!” –Discovery Girls
Book 2
Now in paperback, a second comic case to test the brains and bravery of the intrepid Wollstonecraft detectives–Ada Bryon Lovelace and Mary Shelley.
 
The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency was supposed to be a secret constabulary, but after the success of their first case, all of London knows that Lady Ada and Mary are the girls to go to if you have a problem.
 
Their latest case is a puzzler indeed: A dead father, a missing will, an escaped lunatic, and a hasty engagement. How does it all connect? With the help (and sometimes hindrance) of their sisters Jane and Allegra, these girls break codes, break a girl out of the hospital, and break up a very bad betrothal.
 
Praise for The Case of the Girl in Grey:
 
“Mystery fans … will relish the girls’ romp around the stately home; discovery of an encrypted clue (in the crypt, of course); and unraveling of the mystery.”–Booklist
 
Praise for The Case of the Missing Moonstone:
“An enjoyable plot, resourceful heroines and fun writing.” –Wall Street Journal
 
“Smart and witty. . . . The detectives in training use quick thinking, book smarts, and social know-how to find a stolen gemstone. Comical narration and dialogue will charm readers thoroughly.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Equal parts laughs and adventure, this lively mystery will keep you guessing till the end!” –Discovery Girls
Book 1
History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!
 
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.
 
Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially–emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.
Back to Top