Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
mobile banner image
The ReadDown

Books to Read if You Love Isabel Allende

Few voices have been more prolific than Isabel Allende. Her novels and memoirs are bold and beautiful, with just a hint of magic. If you’re looking for your next read that captures some of Allende’s spirit, look no further than the list below!

  1. 1
    Dreaming in Cuban Book Cover Picture
    Dreaming in Cuban Book Cover Picture

    Dreaming in Cuban

    by Cristina García

    Cristina García’s acclaimed book is the haunting, bittersweet story of a family experiencing a country’s revolution and the revelations that follow. The lives of three generations of Cuban women mirror the magical realism of Cuba itself, a landscape of beauty and poverty, idealism and corruption.

    Dreaming in Cuban Book Cover Picture
    Dreaming in Cuban Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    The Shadow of the Wind Book Cover Picture
    The Shadow of the Wind Book Cover Picture

    The Shadow of the Wind

    by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

    As Barcelona heals from the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, Daniel finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind by Julián Carax. But when he looks for the author’s other works he discovers that someone has been destroying every book Carax has written. Daniel’s quest opens a door into one of the city’s darkest secrets—an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love.

    The Shadow of the Wind Book Cover Picture
    The Shadow of the Wind Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $30.00

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    The Soul of a Woman Book Cover Picture
    The Soul of a Woman Book Cover Picture

    The Soul of a Woman

    by Isabel Allende

    If you loved reading Isabel Allende’s novels, you’ll love her memoir that is “a bold exploration of womanhood, feminism, parenting, aging, love, and more” (Associated Press).

    The Soul of a Woman Book Cover Picture
    The Soul of a Woman Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $22.99

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    Conquistadora Book Cover Picture
    Conquistadora Book Cover Picture

    Conquistadora

    by Esmeralda Santiago

    In this epic novel of love, discovery, and adventure, Ana, a young girl growing up in Spain is powerfully drawn to Puerto Rico by the diaries of an ancestor who traveled there with Ponce de Leon. She travels across the ocean to a remote sugar plantation. But when the Civil War erupts, she must reconcile her new life with those on whose backs her wealth has been built: the hacienda’s slaves.

    Conquistadora Book Cover Picture
    Conquistadora Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.95

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Mother Tongue Book Cover Picture
    Mother Tongue Book Cover Picture

    Mother Tongue

    by Demetria Martinez

    Adrift in the wake of her mother’s death, Mary longs for something meaningful to take her over. Then José Luis enters her life, a refugee from El Salvador and its bloody civil war. Mary cannot help but fall in love with the movement and the man. And little by little, she begins to reveal to José Luise the part of herself she has never known.

    Mother Tongue Book Cover Picture
    Mother Tongue Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    The House of the Spirits Book Cover Picture
    The House of the Spirits Book Cover Picture

    The House of the Spirits

    by Isabel Allende

    In a triumph of magical realism, Allende constructs a spirit-ridden world and fills it with colorful and all-too-human inhabitants. The House of the Spirits not only brings another nation’s history thrillingly to life, but also makes its people’s joys and anguishes wholly our own.

    The House of the Spirits Book Cover Picture
    The House of the Spirits Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  7. 7
    How the García Girls Lost Their Accents Book Cover Picture
    How the García Girls Lost Their Accents Book Cover Picture

    How the García Girls Lost Their Accents

    by Julia Alvarez

    The García sisters and their family must flee their home in the Dominican Republic after their father’s role in an attempt to overthrow its dictator is discovered. They arrive in New York City in 1960, a life far removed from their existence in the Caribbean. In this modern Latinx classic, the sisters tell their stories about being home—and not at home—in America.

    How the García Girls Lost Their Accents Book Cover Picture
    How the García Girls Lost Their Accents Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    Love in the Time of Cholera Book Cover Picture
    Love in the Time of Cholera Book Cover Picture

    Love in the Time of Cholera

    by Gabriel García Márquez

    In this modern literary classic from Gabriel García Márquez, Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza fall passionately in love. When Fermina chooses to marry a wealthy, well-born doctor, Florentino is devastated, but he is a romantic. Fifty years, nine months, and four days after he first declared his love for Fermina, he will do so again.

    Love in the Time of Cholera Book Cover Picture
    Love in the Time of Cholera Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.95

    Also available from:

  9. 9
    A Long Petal of the Sea Book Cover Picture
    A Long Petal of the Sea Book Cover Picture

    A Long Petal of the Sea

    by Isabel Allende

    A masterful work of historical fiction about hope, exile, and belonging, A Long Petal of the Sea shows Isabel Allende at the height of her powers. This epic novel spanning decades and crossing continents follows two young people as they flee the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War in search of a place to call home.

    A Long Petal of the Sea Book Cover Picture
    A Long Petal of the Sea Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  10. 10
    Like Water for Chocolate Book Cover Picture
    Like Water for Chocolate Book Cover Picture

    Like Water for Chocolate

    by Laura Esquivel

    Earthy, magical, and utterly charming, this tale of family life in turn-of-the-century Mexico blends poignant romance and bittersweet wit.

    Like Water for Chocolate Book Cover Picture
    Like Water for Chocolate Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.95

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top