Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The ReadDown

10 Books to Read If You Love Domestic Thrillers

If you loved Sharp Objects or The Girl on the Train, dive deeper into psychological thrillers that you can’t put down. Find out all the secrets within marriages and families in these dark, suspenseful stories. This list has your next page-turning mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

  1. 1
    My Lovely Wife Book Cover Picture
    My Lovely Wife Book Cover Picture

    My Lovely Wife

    by Samantha Downing

    Their love story is simple. He met a gorgeous woman. They fell in love. They had kids. They moved to the suburbs. They told each other their biggest dreams, and their darkest secrets. And then they got bored. Everyone has secrets to keeping a marriage alive. Theirs just happens to be getting away with murder…
    My Lovely Wife Book Cover Picture
    My Lovely Wife Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    The End of Her Book Cover Picture
    The End of Her Book Cover Picture

    The End of Her

    by Shari Lapena

    Stephanie and Patrick are adjusting to life with their colicky twin girls. The babies are a handful, but even as Stephanie struggles with the disorientation of sleep deprivation, there’s one thing she’s sure of: she has all she ever wanted. Then Erica, a woman from Patrick’s past, appears and makes a disturbing accusation. Patrick had always said his first wife’s death was an accident, but now Erica claims it was murder. Patrick insists he’s innocent, that this is nothing but a blackmail attempt. Still, Erica knows things about Patrick–things that make Stephanie begin to question her husband. Stephanie isn’t sure what, or who, to believe. As Stephanie’s trust in Patrick begins to falter, Patrick stands to lose everything. Is Patrick telling the truth–is Erica the persuasive liar Patrick says she is? Or has Stephanie made a terrible mistake?
    The End of Her Book Cover Picture
    The End of Her Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    Our House Book Cover Picture
    Our House Book Cover Picture

    Our House

    by Louise Candlish

    On a bright morning in the suburbs, a family moves into the house they’ve just bought on Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it’s your house. And you didn’t sell it. When Fiona Lawson arrives home to find strangers moving into her house, she is plunged into terror and confusion. She and her husband, Bram, have owned their home on Trinity Avenue for years; how can another family possibly think the house is theirs? And why has Bram disappeared–along with their two young children–when she needs him most? As the nightmare takes hold, Fiona begins to untangle the lies that led to a devastating crime–and a betrayal so shocking it will teach her to keep her own secrets behind locked doors…
    Our House Book Cover Picture
    Our House Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    Home Before Dark Book Cover Picture
    Home Before Dark Book Cover Picture

    Home Before Dark

    by Riley Sager

    In this chilling thriller, a woman returns to the house made famous by her father’s bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthbound—and dangerous—secrets hidden within its walls?
    Home Before Dark Book Cover Picture
    Home Before Dark Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Something in the Water Book Cover Picture
    Something in the Water Book Cover Picture

    Something in the Water

    by Catherine Steadman

    If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . . Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares? Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . . Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.
    Something in the Water Book Cover Picture
    Something in the Water Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    The Perfect Nanny Book Cover Picture
    The Perfect Nanny Book Cover Picture

    The Perfect Nanny

    by Leila Slimani

    When Myriam decides to return to work as a lawyer after having children, she and her husband look for the perfect nanny for their son and daughter. They never dreamed they would find Louise: a quiet, polite, devoted woman who sings to the children, cleans the family’s chic Paris apartment, stays late without complaint, and hosts enviable kiddie parties. But as the couple and the nanny become more dependent on one another, jealousy, resentment, and suspicions mount, shattering the idyllic tableau. Building tension with every page, The Perfect Nanny is a compulsive, riveting, bravely observed exploration of power, class, race, domesticity, motherhood, and madness.
    The Perfect Nanny Book Cover Picture
    The Perfect Nanny Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  7. 7
    Seven Lies Book Cover Picture
    Seven Lies Book Cover Picture

    Seven Lies

    by Elizabeth Kay

    Growing up, Jane and Marnie shared everything. They knew the other’s deepest secrets. They wouldn’t have had it any other way. But when Marnie falls in love, things begin to change. Because Jane has a secret: She loathes Marnie’s wealthy, priggish husband. So when Marnie asks if she likes him, Jane tells her first lie. After all, even best friends keep some things to themselves. If she had been honest, then perhaps her best friend’s husband might still be alive today. . .
    Seven Lies Book Cover Picture
    Seven Lies Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    The Au Pair Book Cover Picture
    The Au Pair Book Cover Picture

    The Au Pair

    by Emma Rous

    Seraphine Mayes and her twin brother, Danny, were born in the middle of summer at their family’s estate on the Norfolk coast. Within hours of their birth, their mother threw herself from the cliffs, the au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark cloaks, changelings, and the aloof couple who drew a young nanny into their inner circle. Now an adult, Seraphine mourns the recent death of her father. While going through his belongings, she uncovers a family photograph that raises dangerous questions. It was taken on the day the twins were born, and in the photo, their mother, surrounded by her husband and her young son, is smiling serenely and holding just one baby. Who is the child, and what really happened that day?
    The Au Pair Book Cover Picture
    The Au Pair Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  9. 9
    The House Swap Book Cover Picture
    The House Swap Book Cover Picture

    The House Swap

    by Rebecca Fleet

    When Caroline and Francis receive an offer to house swap–from their city apartment to a house in a leafy, upscale London suburb–they jump at the chance for a week away from home, their son, and the tensions that have pushed their marriage to the brink. As the couple settles in, the old problems that permeate their marriage–his unhealthy behaviors, her indiscretions–start bubbling to the surface. But while they attempt to mend their relationship, their neighbor, an intense young woman, is showing a little too much interest in their activities. Meanwhile, Caroline slowly begins to uncover some signs of life in the stark house–signs of her life. The flowers in the bathroom or the music might seem innocent to anyone else–but to her they are clues. It seems the person they have swapped with is someone who knows her, someone who knows the secrets she’s desperate to forget. . . . Be careful who you let in…
    The House Swap Book Cover Picture
    The House Swap Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  10. 10
    The Request Book Cover Picture
    The Request Book Cover Picture

    The Request

    by David Bell

    Ryan Francis has it all—great job, wonderful wife, beautiful child—and he loves posting photos of his perfect life on social media. Until the night his friend Blake asks him to break into a woman’s home to retrieve incriminating items that implicate Blake in an affair. Ryan refuses to help, but when Blake threatens to reveal Ryan’s darkest secret—which could jeopardize everything in Ryan’s life—Ryan has no choice but to honor Blake’s request. When he arrives at the woman’s home, Ryan is shocked to find her dead—and just as shocked to realize he knows her. Then his phone chimes, revealing a Facebook friend request from the woman. With police sirens rapidly approaching, Ryan flees, wondering why his friend was setting him up for murder. Determined to keep his life intact and to clear his name, Ryan must find the real murderer—but solving the crime may lead him closer to home than he ever could have imagined.
    The Request Book Cover Picture
    The Request Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top