Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
mobile banner image
The ReadDown

Debut Novels by Authors You’ll Love

Be the first to know new stories coming out in 2021! From gripping mystery to sweeping historical fiction, find out which debuts you’ll want to add to your to-read list.

  1. 1
    Things We Lost to the Water Book Cover Picture
    Things We Lost to the Water Book Cover Picture

    Things We Lost to the Water

    by Eric Nguyen

    A stunning novel about an immigrant Vietnamese family who settles in New Orleans and struggles to remain connected to one another as their lives are inextricably reshaped.
    Things We Lost to the Water Book Cover Picture
    Things We Lost to the Water Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.95

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    The Life of the Mind Book Cover Picture
    The Life of the Mind Book Cover Picture

    The Life of the Mind

    by Christine Smallwood

    “Christine Smallwood’s debut novel is that rare thing: an intellectual page-turner that commands one’s attention completely from the first sentence to the final line.”—Andrew Martin, author of Early Work and Cool for America
    The Life of the Mind Book Cover Picture
    The Life of the Mind Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    Gold Diggers Book Cover Picture
    Gold Diggers Book Cover Picture

    Gold Diggers

    by Sanjena Sathian

    Gold Diggers takes a wincingly hilarious coming-of-age story, laces it with magical realism and a trace of satire, and creates a world that’s both achingly familiar and marvelously inventive…This is a dizzyingly original, fiercely funny, deeply wise novel about the seductive powers—and dangers—of borrowed ambition.” —Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere
    Gold Diggers Book Cover Picture
    Gold Diggers Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    The Brittanys Book Cover Picture
    The Brittanys Book Cover Picture

    The Brittanys

    by Brittany Ackerman

    Bursting with bittersweet nostalgia, a funny, poignant, perfectly voiced novel that brilliantly captures what it’s like to be a teenage girl.
    The Brittanys Book Cover Picture
    The Brittanys Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Ghost Forest Book Cover Picture
    Ghost Forest Book Cover Picture

    Ghost Forest

    by Pik-Shuen Fung

    For fans of The Farewell, this graceful and indelible debut about love, grief, and family welcomes you into its pages and invites you to linger, staying with you long after you’ve closed its covers.
    Ghost Forest Book Cover Picture
    Ghost Forest Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    Highway Blue Book Cover Picture
    Highway Blue Book Cover Picture

    Highway Blue

    by Ailsa McFarlane

    “Ailsa McFarlane’s prose combines the razor sharp truth telling of Ottessa Moshfegh with the troubled heart of Raymond Carver. I’ve never read anything quite like it.”—Emma Copley Eisenberg, author of The Third Rainbow Girl
    Highway Blue Book Cover Picture
    Highway Blue Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $25.00

    Also available from:

  7. 7
    The Sweet Taste of Muscadines Book Cover Picture
    The Sweet Taste of Muscadines Book Cover Picture

    The Sweet Taste of Muscadines

    by Pamela Terry

    A woman returns to her small southern hometown in the wake of her mother’s sudden death—only to find the past upended by stunning family secrets—in this intimate novel, written with deep compassion and sharp wit.
    The Sweet Taste of Muscadines Book Cover Picture
    The Sweet Taste of Muscadines Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    Body of Stars Book Cover Picture
    Body of Stars Book Cover Picture

    Body of Stars

    by Laura Maylene Walter

    From novelist Laura Maylene Walter comes a bold and dazzling exploration of fate and female agency in a world very similar to our own—except that the markings on women’s bodies reveal the future.
    Body of Stars Book Cover Picture
    Body of Stars Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  9. 9
    Dead Dead Girls Book Cover Picture
    Dead Dead Girls Book Cover Picture

    Dead Dead Girls

    by Nekesa Afia

    The start of an exciting new historical mystery series set during the Harlem Renaissance from debut author Nekesa Afia.
    Dead Dead Girls Book Cover Picture
    Dead Dead Girls Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  10. 10
    Nightbitch Book Cover Picture
    Nightbitch Book Cover Picture

    Nightbitch

    by Rachel Yoder

    “A high wire act of a novel that expertly balances the uncanny and quotidian moments of early motherhood. Yoder’s writing is graceful, funny and unnerving as hell.”–Jenny Offill
    Nightbitch Book Cover Picture
    Nightbitch Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  11. 11
    Rainbow Milk Book Cover Picture
    Rainbow Milk Book Cover Picture

    Rainbow Milk

    by Paul Mendez

    An essential and revelatory coming-of-age narrative from a thrilling new voice, Rainbow Milk follows nineteen-year-old Jesse McCarthy as he grapples with his racial and sexual identities against the backdrop of his Jehovah’s Witness upbringing.
    Rainbow Milk Book Cover Picture
    Rainbow Milk Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.95

    Also available from:

  12. 12
    The Bachelor Book Cover Picture
    The Bachelor Book Cover Picture

    The Bachelor

    by Andrew Palmer

    Smart, sexy, and provocative, The Bachelor is also an absorbing coming-of-age tale that tells the story of finding one’s footing in love and art. If salvation can no longer be found in fame, can it still be found in romantic relationships?
    The Bachelor Book Cover Picture
    The Bachelor Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  13. 13
    The Bookshop of Second Chances Book Cover Picture
    The Bookshop of Second Chances Book Cover Picture

    The Bookshop of Second Chances

    by Jackie Fraser

    A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly aloof bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.
    The Bookshop of Second Chances Book Cover Picture
    The Bookshop of Second Chances Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  14. 14
    Meet Me in Paradise Book Cover Picture
    Meet Me in Paradise Book Cover Picture

    Meet Me in Paradise

    by Libby Hubscher

    Ever since her journalist mother died on assignment, Marin has played it safe, refusing to set foot outside the state of Tennessee. Her wild-child younger sister, Sadie, has trotted the globe as a photographer, living off of art and adrenaline.  When Sadie returns from a tough assignment abroad and looks a little worse for wear, Marin reluctantly agrees to a sisters’ spa weekend on the tropical island of Saba. But her lifelong fear of travel is affirmed when Sadie misses the flight, Marin’s luggage gets mixed up with another passenger’s, and an episode of turbulence sends her hurtling  into the lap of Lucas Tsai, the handsome stranger who stole her sister’s seat.
    Meet Me in Paradise Book Cover Picture
    Meet Me in Paradise Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  15. 15
    Olympus, Texas Book Cover Picture
    Olympus, Texas Book Cover Picture

    Olympus, Texas

    by Stacey Swann

    A bighearted debut with technicolor characters, plenty of Texas swagger, and a powder keg of a plot in which marriages struggle, rivalries flare, and secrets explode, all with a clever wink toward classical mythology (“Wildly entertaining” –Richard Russo)
    Olympus, Texas Book Cover Picture
    Olympus, Texas Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.95

    Also available from:

  16. 16
    Songs in Ursa Major Book Cover Picture
    Songs in Ursa Major Book Cover Picture

    Songs in Ursa Major

    by Emma Brodie

    A scintillating debut from a major new voice in fiction, Songs in Ursa Major is a love story set in 1969, alive with music, sex, and the trappings of fame.
    Songs in Ursa Major Book Cover Picture
    Songs in Ursa Major Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.95

    Also available from:

  17. 17
    Ghosts Book Cover Picture
    Ghosts Book Cover Picture

    Ghosts

    by Dolly Alderton

    A smart, sexy, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy about ex-boyfriends, imperfect parents, friends with kids, and a man who disappears the moment he says “I love you.”
    Ghosts Book Cover Picture
    Ghosts Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  18. 18
    A Play for the End of the World Book Cover Picture
    A Play for the End of the World Book Cover Picture

    A Play for the End of the World

    by Jai Chakrabarti

    A dazzling novel–set in the early 1970s in New York and rural India, the story of a turbulent, unlikely romance, a harrowing account of the lasting horrors of the Second World War, and a searing examination of one man’s search for forgiveness and acceptance.
    A Play for the End of the World Book Cover Picture
    A Play for the End of the World Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

  19. 19
    Rock the Boat Book Cover Picture
    Rock the Boat Book Cover Picture

    Rock the Boat

    by Beck Dorey-Stein

    Old friends discover how much has changed–and how much has stayed the same–when they return to their seaside hometown in this clever and poignant novel by the New York Times bestselling author of From the Corner of the Oval.
    Rock the Boat Book Cover Picture
    Rock the Boat Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $27.00

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top