Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Lawbreakers Series

Max Austin
Duke City Split by Max Austin
Duke City Hit by Max Austin
Duke City Desperado by Max Austin

Lawbreakers Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
For fans of Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul comes Max Austin’s latest fast-paced, rollicking Lawbreakers Thriller, a short novel of criminals and lovers, malcontents and madmen—all within the treacherous city limits of Albuquerque, New Mexico.
 
Under a sky full of stars, Dylan James lies sleeping on the roof of a pueblo-style house. He’s a fugitive, and everyone in Albuquerque seems to be looking for him. A murderous Mafia prince wants to kill him. Two FBI agents want to cuff him. A Goth girl wants to make love to him. And a fierce, sexy Chicana just wants to clean up the mess Dylan made.
 
The trouble started with a drug-addled career criminal named Doc and a bank robbery staged with a garage door opener. Then it all goes off the rails after a little misunderstanding with Dylan’s ex-girlfriend and her jealous, gun-toting new beau.
 
When the sun comes up, this sleepy, scrawny desperado is going to show the world what he’s made of—all for a one-in-a-million shot at walking out of Duke City alive.

Advance praise for Duke City Desperado
 
“Duke City Desperado is more fun than a barrel of heavily medicated monkeys. The crime caper novel is not dead, but in the capable hands of Max Austin it takes on a whole new twist. Two inept criminals equal one good time for the reader.”—Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Day Shift and the novels that inspired True Blood

“Duke City Desperado is a page-burner of tart dialogue and breakneck pacing. In lesser hands, this twisty plot could have gone off the rails, but it works because author Max Austin knows it’s all about simple, human relationships, especially the off-kilter relationship at the core of the story.”—Bill Fitzhugh, Lefty Award–winning author of The Exterminators
 
“With Duke City Desperado, Max Austin again proves to be grand master of the laugh-out-loud noir crime novel. Doc Burnett (“Bank robbery ain’t a matter of brains.”) and his hapless disciple, Dylan, lead readers on a madcap spree that transforms ineptitude into a survival skill.”—Charlie Price, Edgar Award–winning author of Dead Girl Moon
Book 2
For fans of Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul, Max Austin takes readers back to Albuquerque for another action-packed thrill ride in the short novel Duke City Hit, as an elite assassin takes aim at—well, everyone.
 
According to Vic Walters, the secret to happiness is low overhead and few demands. Living rent-free in a modest bachelor pad behind his boss’s house, he has no debts, no entanglements, and no expensive relationships. He works just a few days a month, but his bank accounts keep growing.
 
Vic is a high-priced hitman with a legendary record of success. That is, until someone starts eliminating his marks before he can get to them . . . until his manager puts him in the middle of a vicious drug-cartel feud . . . and until a young man walks into his life with a big .45 and a startling revelation.
 
For Vic Walters, it’s time to step out of the shadows. Which means it’s killing time in Duke City.

Praise for Duke City Hit
 
“An action-packed, adrenaline ride.”—Book Nerd
 
“Duke City Hit is the kind of book you want to settle in with when there’s just too much going on around you.”—No More Grumpy Bookseller
 
“Just plain fun.”—Tales of a Book Addict
 
“He strikes a great balance between brevity and description and I definitely stayed up late to finish the book.”—Reading to Distraction
Book 1
A cool, calm, and collected bank robber—with two kids at home—heads a fascinating cast of characters in Duke City Split, the first in a trilogy of white-knuckle thrillers from Max Austin, for fans of Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul.
 
Bud Knox isn’t your average bank robber. He’s happiest fixing a nice lunch for his wife on her lunch break or watching his two young daughters play soccer. He leaves the boldness and brawn to his partner, Mick Wyman. In the past fourteen years, they’ve hit nearly thirty banks all over the West—everywhere but “Duke City,” their hometown of Albuquerque, New Mexico.
 
So when Mick calls him about the perfect job, Bud is less than convinced, because the target is on their own turf. But with the potential to haul in millions, Bud simply can’t say no. If they do this job right, Bud may never have to work again.
 
As it turns out, the heist is the easy part. Holding onto the money while evading everyone from the FBI to the Mafia to the low-life criminals who want a cut will be the hardest thing Bud Knox has ever done—and it might just cost him his life.
Back to Top