Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The ReadDown

Long-Running Series to Binge Read (If You Haven’t Already)

There’s nothing quite like delving into a novel when you know you can count on several more volumes to hold your attention. The idea of getting to know a character – or characters – over the course of not only multiple novels but multiple years makes for a unique reading experience. Picking up a new novel in a beloved series is like meeting up with some old friends – there’s a kind of well-worn familiarity that can’t be replicated. Luckily, if you too have the urge to dive into a long-running series, we have a few favorites to get you started.

  1. 1
    Mr. Churchill's Secretary Book Cover Picture
    Mr. Churchill's Secretary Book Cover Picture

    Mr. Churchill’s Secretary

    by Susan Elia MacNeal

    For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it. In London, 1940 whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass in this bestselling series.
    Mr. Churchill's Secretary Book Cover Picture
    Mr. Churchill's Secretary Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    Neon Prey Book Cover Picture
    Neon Prey Book Cover Picture

    Neon Prey

    by John Sandford

    Follow the extraordinary Lucas Davenport thrillers from bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner John Sandford. These haunting murder investigations have hooked readers over his almost 30 book collection.
    Neon Prey Book Cover Picture
    Neon Prey Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    Depth of Winter Book Cover Picture
    Depth of Winter Book Cover Picture

    Depth of Winter

    by Craig Johnson

    Walt Longmire is a laconic and tortured cowboy with a stiff moral code and a weathered view of the world around him. Craig Johnson has carved out an interesting niche that combines classic Old West and cowboy tropes with hard-boiled noir. It’s an interesting combination that sets the Longmire Mystery series apart from the wealth of other crime fiction crowding the shelves.
    Depth of Winter Book Cover Picture
    Depth of Winter Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    Storm Front Book Cover Picture
    Storm Front Book Cover Picture

    Storm Front

    by Jim Butcher

    With Harry Dresden, Jim Butcher puts a fantastical spin on the classic hard-boiled detective mystery. Dresden finds himself caught up in all facets of murder and mayhem in his beloved Chicago — supernatural and otherwise — and his wisecracking, fly-by-the-seat-of-his-pants style is entertaining across fifteen novels as well as various short stories.
    Storm Front Book Cover Picture
    Storm Front Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $26.00

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Her Royal Spyness Book Cover Picture
    Her Royal Spyness Book Cover Picture

    Her Royal Spyness

    by Rhys Bowen

    Rhys Bowen’s A Royal Spyness Mystery series has plenty of books to sink your teeth into. Set during the 1930s, the mysteries center around a Lady Georgiana, who is 34th in line for the English throne with a penchant for finding herself in inexplicable situations.
    Her Royal Spyness Book Cover Picture
    Her Royal Spyness Book Cover Picture

    Mass Market Paperback
    $7.99

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Book Cover Picture
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Book Cover Picture

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

    by Stieg Larsson

    Murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue combine into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel, the first in Stieg Larsson’s thrilling Millenium series featuring Lisbeth Salander.
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Book Cover Picture
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.95

    Also available from:

  7. 7
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Book Cover Picture
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Book Cover Picture

    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

    by Alan Bradley

    Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison, solves twisty mystery cases in this page-turning series from award-winning author Alan Bradley.
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Book Cover Picture
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $17.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    Killing Floor Book Cover Picture
    Killing Floor Book Cover Picture

    Killing Floor

    by Lee Child

    Jack Reacher might just be the most badass, no-nonsense hero in suspense fiction at the moment and Lee Child’s lean and visceral thrillers are truly edge-of-your seat affairs. Reacher is an ex-military policeman turned drifter with a very particular and dangerous sort of skills. He makes his way around the country like a sort of modern-day knight, always finding someone in dire need of his help.
    Killing Floor Book Cover Picture
    Killing Floor Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  9. 9
    Pietr the Latvian Book Cover Picture
    Pietr the Latvian Book Cover Picture

    Pietr the Latvian

    by Georges Simenon

    When it comes to long-running series, Georges Simenon’s Inspector Maigret is difficult to top. With seventy-eight novels featuring the genius Parisian sleuth, there’s plenty of mystery to be enjoyed. Maigret is a dogged and occasionally misanthropic detective who navigates the underbelly of a Paris that seems to be set in a state of perpetual gloom. These tightly woven, densely plotted mysteries are well worth digging into.
    Pietr the Latvian Book Cover Picture
    Pietr the Latvian Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $12.00

    Also available from:

  10. 10
    Y is for Yesterday Book Cover Picture
    Y is for Yesterday Book Cover Picture

    Y is for Yesterday

    by Sue Grafton

    It’s hard to top Sue Grafton’s dogged ingenuity. The twenty-five novels in her Kinsey Milhone/Alphabet series are a master class in sustained suspense and clever plotting. Grafton created one of the all-time great literary detectives in Kinsey Milhone — a hard edged and resourceful private investigator who Grafton insisted on thrusting into ever more dangerous situations.
    Y is for Yesterday Book Cover Picture
    Y is for Yesterday Book Cover Picture

    Paperback
    $16.00

    Also available from:

  11. 11
    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book Cover Picture
    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book Cover Picture

    The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

    by Alexander McCall Smith

    Fans around the world adore the best-selling No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series and its proprietor, Precious Ramotswe, Botswana’s premier lady detective. In this charming series, Mma  Ramotswe—with help from her loyal associate, Grace Makutsi—navigates her cases and her personal life with wisdom, good humor, and the occasional cup of tea.
    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book Cover Picture
    The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $25.00

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top